Everyone loves getting new Twitter followers, but let’s face it… gaining followers requires you (in most cases) to follow new people. Unfortunately, I often find myself in predicaments where I’m regretting my decision after seeing one too many of my new followers’ rants or arguments filling up my timeline.
“But I just followed him…”
No. I can’t unfollow him now. He’ll notice.
“But his tweets are annoying…”
Ugh. Maybe they’ll get better…
Fact: once a bad tweeter, always a bad tweeter. So what is a (somewhat) new/loyal follower to do?
Fortunately, Twitter now has a mute feature. The best part? Users that you mute don’t receive a notification that they’ve been muted. According to Twitter’s help center, “when you mute a user on Twitter, their content will no longer be visible to you, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user.”
Key words: their content will no longer be visible to you. You’re essentially unfollowing someone without giving them the “ouch” feeling. Anything that a user tweets after they’ve been muted will be hidden, but previous tweets will still be displayed.
Muted users can still send you direct messages and any @ replies will be displayed in your notifications. These users can also still interact with your content, so you can still be receiving favorites and retweets from someone who you muted.
So for those of you who are hesitant to hit that unfollow button, no worries – the mute button understands and is here to help.